Scientific basics

Chronic venous diseases are among the most common disease patterns of the population. Despite its prevalence, research has been neglected in Germany for many years. This is even more incomprehensible as chronic venous diseases result in major costs due to their incidence, and for this reason, they are relevant in a socioeconomic way.

In order to better be able to classify the variety of manifestations of chronic venous diseases and to facilitate the diagnosis, diverse classifications have been implemented such as the internationally recognized CEAP classification. The CEAP classification was developed by an international committee of the American venous forum in 1994 and was adopted by the vascular surgery association within the “Reporting Standards in Venous Diseases” and complemented in 2004.

CEAP classification

Today, the classification of varicose veins and chronic insufficiency is scientifically correctly performed according to the CEAP classification. Every letter has its own meaning in the CEAP classification. C stands for clinical, E for etiologic, A for anatomic, and P for the pathophysiological aspects of a venous disease. Due to its complexity, the use of this classification in clinical practice has unfortunately been very limited. We, the Kompetenznetz Chronische Venenkrankheiten obligatory use this classification being the best possible option at the moment for all trials to guarantee an international comparability of our results for the benefit of patients. We are looking forward to providing further information (please refer to our contact form).

Sources: 1. Porter et al., Reporting standards in venous disease: an update. International Consensus Committee on Chronic Venous Disease. J Vasc Surg 1995;21(4): 635-645/2. Kistner et al., Diagnosis of chronic venous disease of the lower extremities: the CEAP classification. Mayo Clin Proc 1996; 71(4): 338-345 / 3. Eklöf et al., American Venous Forum international ad hoc committee for revision of the CEAP classification. Revision of the CEAP classification for chronic venous disorders:consensus statetment. J Vasc Surg 2004; 40(6): 1248-1252

Classification as per the etiologic aspects

Generally, varicose veins are classified according to their cause or formation: The primary varicose veins being characterized by a deficiency of venous wall and venous valve of epifascial veins and the secondary varicose veins as the most common consequence of a deep leg vein thrombosis with persistent vein lumen stenosis and/or destruction of the venous valves. In both cases, the amount of blood is redistributed from the deep to the superficial venous system, resulting in a visible venectasia, the varicose veins. The primary varicose veins are definitely the most common form.

Epidemiology of varicose veins

The prevalence of venous diseases is increased in particular in Western nations. Internationally, diverse studies representing the population have been performed. The recently performed Bonner Venenstudie (Bonner vein study) is one of the largest epidemiological studies to compile the incidence and severity of chronic venous diseases. Varicose veins without the indication for CVI are shown for 24% of men and 15.8% of women. An advanced CVI has been registered for 3.6%. Total prevalence was between the age of 19 and 79 for the average population for the healed ulcer at 0.6% and in case of a florid ulcer at 0.1%. Prevalence highly depended on age. Varicose veins are, therefore, a typical widespread disease.

Source: Rabe et al., Bonner Venenstudie der Deutschen Gesellschaft für Phlebologie – Epidemiologische Untersuchung zur Frage der Häufigkeit und Ausprägung von chronischen Venenkrankheiten in der städtischen und ländlichen Wohnbevölkerung. Phlebologie 2003; 32:1-4

Genetics of chronic venous diseases/heredity

Experts have already been discussing the importance of genetics as a predisposing factor for a long time. However, it was only in 2010 that it was possible for the first time to obtain evidence of a clear genetic component in regard to the pathogenesis of varicose veins by scientifically calculating heredity by means of many family trees of the test persons having developed the disease. Heredity was determined with 17.3% for the intensity of varicose veins requiring treatment, and, therefore, it can be compared to the heredity of cardiovascular risk factors such as arterial hypertonia (systolic blood pressure 15.0%) which is also a disease of multifactorial genesis.

Source: Fiebig et al., Heritability of chronic venous disease. Human Genetics 2010; 127:669-674

Further risk factors:

Varicose veins are clearly a disease of multifactorial genesis. The modern way of living and the consequences from sitting for long periods and remaining in a standing position as well as overweight can all foster the occurrence of varicose veins. On the other hand, people who suffer from varicose veins are routinely physically active and of a normal weight. Therefore, for this reason, a genetic component has already been suspected for a long time. However, there are also other risk factors beyond genetics that contribute to the occurrence of varicose veins: Old age and being female. The relation between these two risk factors and the genetic component was calculated by means of the Kullbach-Leibler divergence. The result shows a significantly higher proportion of genetics than the product of high age and female gender. In addition to these important risk factors, other factors also play a role, including increased BMI, increased number of pregnancies, sitting for long periods and walking as well as physical activity. They all damage the veins.

Sources: 1. Rabe et al., Bonner Venenstudie der Deutschen Gesellschaft für Phlebologie – Epidemiologische Untersuchung zur Frage der Häufigkeit und Ausprägung von chronischen Venenkrankheiten in der städtischen und ländlichen Wohnbevölkerung. Phlebologie 2003; 32:1-4 / 2. Fiebig et al., Heritability of chronic venous disease. Human Genetics 2010; 127:669-674

Wissenschaftliche Grundlagen

Chronische Venenkrankheiten gehören zu den häufigsten Krankheitsbildern in der Bevölkerung. Trotz Ihrer weiten Verbreitung wurde die Forschung hierzu lange Zeit über vernachlässigt. Das ist um so mehr unverständlich, weil die Chronischen Venenkrankheiten aufgrund ihrer Häufigkeit erhebliche Kosten verursachen und somit von großer sozioökonomischer Relevanz sind.

Zur besseren Einteilung der Vielfalt der Erscheinungsbilder der Chronischen Venenkrankheiten und als Erleichterung für die Diagnose wurde diverse Klassifikationen eingeführt wie z.B. die international anerkannte CEAP-Klassifikation. Die CEAP-Klassifikation wurde 1994 durch ein internationales Komitee des amerikanischen Venenforums entwickelt und von der Gesellschaft für Gefäßchirugie in die „Reporting Standards in Venous Diseases“ übernommen und 2004 ergänzt.

Die CEAP-Klassifikation

Die Einteilung der Varikosis und der Chronischen Insuffizienz erfolgt heute wissenschaftlich korrekt nach der CEAP-Klassifikation. Bei der CEAP-Klassifikation hat jeder Buchstabe seine eigene Bedeutung: C steht für klinische, E für ätiologische, A für anatomische und P für pathophysiologische Aspekte einer Venenerkrankung. Wegen ihrer Komplexität hat sich diese Einteilung in der klinischen Praxis jedoch bisher leider nur eingeschränkt durchsetzen können. Wir vom Kompetenznetz Chronische Venenkrankheiten verwenden diese unserer Meinung nach derzeit bestmögliche Klassifikation obligatorisch in allen unseren Studien um eine internationale Vergleichbarkeit unserer Ergebnisse zum Wohle des Patienten zu gewährleisten. Bei Bedarf stellen wir Ihnen gerne zusätzliche Informationen zur Verfügung (siehe unser Kontaktformular).

Quellen: 1. Porter et al., Reporting standards in venous disease: an update. International Consensus Committee on Chronic Venous Disease. J Vasc Surg 1995;21(4): 635-645 / 2. Kistner et al., Diagnosis of chronic venous disease of the lower extremities: the CEAP classification. Mayo Clin Proc 1996; 71(4): 338-345 / 3. Eklöf et al., American Venous Forum international ad hoc committee for revision of the CEAP classification. Revision of the CEAP classification for chronic venous disorders:consensus statetment. J Vasc Surg 2004; 40(6): 1248-1252

Einteilung nach ätiologischen Gesichtspunkten

Generell wird die Varikosis anhand der Ursache bzw. Entstehung unterteilt: In die primäre Varikosis, die durch eine Venenwand- und Venenklappenschwäche der epifaszialen Venen charakterisiert ist, und in die sekundäre Varikosis, die am häufigsten als Folge einer tiefen Beinvenenthrombose mit persistierender Venenlumeneinengung und / oder Zerstörung der Venenklappen auftritt. In beiden Fällen kommt es zu einer Umverteilung der Blutmenge aus dem tiefen in das oberflächliche Venensystem und damit zu einer sichtbaren Venen-erweiterung, der Varikosis. Die primäre Varikosis ist die bei weitem häufigere Form.

Epidemiologie der Varikosis

Venenerkrankungen zeigen vor allem in den Industriestaaten westlicher Prägung eine hohe Prävalenz. International wurden diverse bevölkerungsrepresentative Studien durchgeführt. Die rezent durchgeführte Bonner Venen-Studie ist eine der größten epidemiologischen Studien zur Erfassung der Häufigkeit und Schwere chronischer Venenerkrankungen. Eine Stammvarikose ohne Zeichen der CVI zeigte sich bei 12,4 % der Männer und 15,8 % der Frauen. Eine fortgeschrittene CVI wurde bei 3,6 % registriert. Die Gesamtprävalenz lag in der Durchschnittsbevölkerung zwischen dem 18. und 79. Lebensjahr für das abgeheilte Ulkus bei 0,6 % und für das floride Ulkus bei 0,1 %. Die Prävalenz war stark altersabhängig. Die Varikosis gilt daher als eine typische Volkskrankheit.

Quelle: Rabe et al., Bonner Venenstudie der Deutschen Gesellschaft für Phlebologie – Epidemiologische Untersuchung zur Frage der Häufigkeit und Ausprägung von chronischen Venenkrankheiten in der städtischen und ländlichen Wohnbevölkerung. Phlebologie 2003; 32:1-4

Genetik der Chronischen Venekrankheiten / Vererbung

Unter Fachleuten wurde schon lange die Bedeutung der Genetik als ein prädisponierender Faktor diskutiert. Aber erst 2010 wurde erstmals der eindeutige Nachweis einer genetischen Komponente bei der Krankheitsentstehung der Varikosis durch die wissenschaftliche Berechnung der Heritabilität anhand einer großen Anzahl von Stammbäumen erkrankter Probanden erbracht. Die Heritabilität für die Ausprägung einer behandlungsbedürftigen Varikosis wurde mit 17,3 % ermittelt und ist somit mit der Heritabilität von kardiovaskulären Risikofaktoren wie der arteriellen Hypertonie (systolischer Blutdruck 15,0 %) vergleichbar, ebenfalls einer Erkrankung multifaktorieller Genese.

Quelle: Fiebig et al., Heritability of chronic venous disease. Human Genetics 2010; 127:669-674

Weitere Risikofaktoren

Es handelt sich bei der Varikosis eindeutig um eine Erkrankung multifaktorieller Genese. Die moderne Lebensweise und ihre Auswirkungen, zum Beispiel längeres Sitzen und Stehen sowie Übergewicht begünstigen das Auftreten von Varizen. Andereseits leiden Menschen unter Krampfadern, die regelmäßig sportlich aktiv und normalgewichtig sind, so daß seit langem eine genetische Komponente vermutet wurde. Neben der Genetik wurden aber auch weitere Risikofaktoren für die Ausbildung einer Varikosis gefunden: Höheres Lebensalter und weibliches Geschlecht. Das Verhältniss dieser beiden Risikofaktoren zum Genetischen Anteil wurde mittels der Kullbach-Leibler-Divergenz berechnet. Dabei zeigt sich ein deutlich höherer Anteil der Genetik als das Produkt von höherem Lebensalter und weiblichen Geschlecht. Neben diesen bedeutenden Risikofaktoren spielen weitere eine Rolle dazu gehören u.a.: erhöhter BMI, erhöhte Anzahl an Schwangerschaften, langes Sitzen und Gehen sowie venenschädigende Sportarten.

Quellen: 1. Rabe et al., Bonner Venenstudie der Deutschen Gesellschaft für Phlebologie – Epidemiologische Untersuchung zur Frage der Häufigkeit und Ausprägung von chronischen Venenkrankheiten in der städtischen und ländlichen Wohnbevölkerung. Phlebologie 2003; 32:1-4 / 2. Fiebig et al., Heritability of chronic venous disease. Human Genetics 2010; 127:669-674