The vein

Veins (Latin singular vena, in subject-specific linguistic compositions phlebo- from the Greek genitive singular “φλέβας”, “phlébas”, in ancient Greek “φλέψ” phleps, “artery”) or in German veins are blood vessels transporting the blood to the heart. They transport approx. 7,000 liters of blood to the heart per day in an adult. Especially the leg veins have to work hard as the blood has to be transported in the opposite direction of the gravity of the heart.

Vein functioning

The systemic circulation veins transport oxygen-deficient blood, and the pulmonary circulation veins transport oxygen-rich blood. Oxygen-deficient blood is darker than oxygen-rich blood. The blood pressure in veins is clearly lower than in the arteries; they belong to the capillary, and the venule belongs to the low pressure system of the blood circulation.

Relationship to arteries

Approx. 90% of blood can be found in the veins. Most systemic veins are accompanying veins, i.e. they are parallel to the arterial equivalent.

Importance of musculature for blood flow

The foot and leg muscles naturally pump blood within veins. Always during the muscle tension, the blood is pressed against gravity upwards towards the heart. Dozens of venous valves are like non-return valves that are responsible for the blood not flowing back downwards during the relaxation of the muscle. Therefore, the use of the foot and leg muscles is very important for healthy veins. Climbing stairs, walking, hiking, riding a bike, or swimming keep the muscle pump active and increase the blood flow.

Vein manifestation

The blue manifestation of cutaneous veins depends not only on the oxygen content of the venous blood. Cutaneous veins seem to be blue in particular because the long-wave red light has a higher degree of penetration into tissue than blue, and for this reason, it is absorbed from the dark blood of the veins. Otherwise, the short-wave blue light is reflected; the veins seem to be blue at a tissue depth of 0.5 to 2 millimeters.

Vein structure

Veins reveal a typical three-layer appearance of the wall in the tunica interna (intima), tunica media (media), and tunica adventitia (A) that is comparable to all other blood vessels.

Importance of the venous valves

In case of arteries, the pump pressure of the heart is sufficient to avoid reflux. However, in the veins, the pump pressure of the heart is significantly decreased. In contrast to arteries, veins are fitted with a venous valve. Venous valves are pocket-like cusps of the venous intima. They occur in almost all veins at regular intervals. The venous valves have an important function: They control the blood flow toward the heart. They open in the direction of the blood flow. They close in case of reflux. Therefore, it is only possible for the blood flow to move in one direction. The venous valves are very important within the leg as gravity is contrary to venous flow. In case of functional disorders of the venous valves, valvular closure is insufficient. The blood can only flow back into the leg by increasing the pressure and gravity. In many cases, the orifice valve V. saphena magna is affected by an insufficiency of the valves. There are no venous valves in the veins of the head, bowels, vertebral canal, and large vessels close to the heart.

Die Vene

Venen (lateinischer Singular vena, in fachsprachlichen Zusammensetzungen auch phlebo- vom griechischen Genitiv Singular “φλέβας”, “phlébas”, zu altgriechisch “φλέψ” phleps, “Ader”) oder deutsch Blutadern sind Blutgefäße, die das Blut zum Herzen führen. Bei einem erwachsenen Menschen transportieren sie jeden Tag etwa 7000 Liter Blut zum Herzen zurück. Dabei haben besonders die Beinvenen schwere Arbeit zu leisten, denn das Blut muss gegen die Schwerkraft zum Herzen befördert werden.

Funktion der Venen

Die Venen des Körperkreislaufs transportieren sauerstoffarmes Blut, diejenigen des Lungenkreislaufs sauerstoffreiches Blut. Sauerstoffarmes Blut ist dunkler als sauerstoffreiches. Der Blutdruck in Venen ist deutlich niedriger als in Schlagadern (Arterien), sie gehören mit den Kapillaren und den Venolen zum Niederdrucksystem des Blutkreislaufs.

Verhältniss zu Arterien

Ca. 90% des menschlichen Blutes befindet sich in den Venen. Die meisten Körpervenen sind Begleitvenen, das heißt sie verlaufen parallel zu ihrer arteriellen Entsprechung.

Bedeutung der Muskulatur für den Blutfluss

Als natürliche Pumpe für den Blutfluss in den Venen dient die Fuß- und Beinmuskulatur. Mit jeder Anspannung pressen die Muskeln das Blut gegen die Schwerkraft von unten in Richtung Herz. Dutzende von Venenklappen sorgen wie Rückschlagventile dafür, dass das Blut bei der Entspannung des Muskels nicht wieder nach unten zurückfällt. Der Gebrauch der Fuß- und Beinmuskulatur ist deshalb für die Venengesundheit von entscheidender Bedeutung. Treppensteigen, Spazierengehen, Wandern, Radfahren oder Schwimmen halten die Muskelpumpe aktiv und verbessern damit die Durchblutung.

Erscheinungsformen der Venen

Das bläuliche Erscheinen der Hautvenen hängt nicht allein mit dem Sauerstoffgehalt des venösen Blutes zusammen. Hautvenen erscheinen vor allem deswegen blau, weil das langwellige rote Licht eine höhere Eindringtiefe in das Gewebe hat als das blaue und somit vom dunklen Blut der Venen absorbiert wird. Das kurzwellige blaue Licht hingegen wird reflektiert; somit erscheinen die Venen in einer Gewebstiefe von 0,5 bis 2 Millimetern blau.

Aufbau der Vene
Venen zeigen wie alle Blutgefäße eine typische Dreischichtung der Wand in Tunica interna (Intima), Tunica media (Media) und Tunica adventitia (A).

Bedeutung der Venenklappen

Bei den Arterien reicht der Pumpdruck des Herzens aus, um den Rückfluss zu verhindern. In den Venen ist der Pumpdruck des Herzens aber deutlich schwächer. Im Unterschied zu den Arterien sind daher die Venen mit Venenklappen ausgestattet. Die Venenklappen sind taschenförmige Segel der Gefäßinnenhaut der Venen. Sie treten in regelmäßigen Abständen in fast allen Venen auf. Die Venenklappen haben eine wichtige Funktion: Sie steuern den Blutfluss Richtung Herz. Sie öffnen sich in die Richtung, in die das Blut fließen soll. Bei einem Rückfluss schließen sie sich. So kann das Blut nur in eine Richtung fließen. Sehr wichtig sind die Venenklappen vor allem im Bein, da die Schwerkraft dem Venenfluss entgegen steht. Treten bei den Venenklappen Funktionsstörungen auf, kommt es zum insuffizienten Klappenschluss. Das Blut kann nun durch Druckerhöhung und Schwerkraft wieder ins Bein zurückfließen. Sehr häufig ist von einer Klappeninsuffizienz die Mündungsklappe der V. saphena magna betroffen.. Keine Venenklappen finden sich in den Venen des Kopfes, der Eingeweide, des Wirbelkanals und der herznahen großen Venen.